Leading economist Rajiv Kumar to be new NITI Aayog Vice-Chairman

Rajiv Kumar. Credit Twitter

Rajiv Kumar. Credit Twitter

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had appointed him as the first vice-chairman of NITI Aayog on January 5, 2015.

Kumar is the managing director of the Pahle India Foundation and now a senior fellow at the Centre for Policy Research (CPR).

He will succeed Arvind Panagariya, who had recently quit as Vice Chairman of Niti Aayog. Panagariya's tenure will end on August 31, and Kumar will presumably assume his duties from September 1, 2017.

According to Dr Kumar's profile on the CPR website, he has written several books on India's economy and national security. He was a member of the National Security Advisory Board between 2006 and 2008.

Meanwhile, the Centre has also appointed Vinod Paul, a Paediatrician at AIIMS, as a member of NITI Aayog. He is an independent member in the high-level search committee for appointment of regulators in the Indian financial sector, a government-nominated independent director on the Central Board of the Reserve Bank of India, an independent director on the Board of Dewan Housing Finance Corporation Ltd, and a member of the Advisory Board of CISCO India.

Earlier, he was Secretary General of the FICCI and had also served as Director and Chief Executive of the Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER).

He has a D.Phil.in Economics from Oxford University and a Ph.D from Lucknow University.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.